Find Your Nursing Licensure Guide

California, CA

eNLC: No
Walk-Through: No
Temp License: Yes
Nursys: No
P: (916) 322-3350



Endorsement Application: $350.00

Temporary Permit: $100.00

Fingerprint Card (If Out-of-State): $49.00


Permanent License

Approximately 10-12 weeks upon receipt of all required materials.

Temporary License

Approximately 2-3 weeks upon receipt of all required materials.

License Renewal

  • Renewal cadence: Your first California Registered Nurse license is issued for two birthdays, not two years, and will expire the last day of the month following your birth date. From that date on, it will expire every two years, if renewed timely.
  • Renewal fee: $190.00
  • Required contact hours: 30. No contact hours are required for your first renewal.
  • Renewal of your license is done online through BreEZe
  • You may work while your license renewal is pending, provided that the renewal fee has been submitted on time and all renewal requirements have been met. 

Important Things to Know

  • Active duty military spouses or partners receive expedited review.
  • At the end of the application process, you will have the opportunity to attach documents to the application. Please attach as much information as possible to reduce paperwork, speed the review process, and reduce the need for deficiency letters.
  • See Important Notice Regarding Your Application for additional information for applicants with criminal convictions or discipline.

Licensure by Endorsement


Permanent License

1. Submit an application online and pay the fee. You may also mail in the completed application packet, however the Board indicates the process is significantly faster if you opt for the online route.

2. Provide a background check with fingerprints. Instructions for fingerprinting can be found here.

  1. For residents in California: If using a LiveScan method, you must use a Live Scan site located in California. The Board will not be able to receive results for fingerprints taken at Live Scan locations that are outside of California.

    1. At the Live Scan site they will scan your fingerprints electronically and transmit them immediately for processing.

    2. Before requesting a copy of the Live Scan fingerprint form, you must first submit your application for RN licensure.

    3. Most local law enforcement agencies in California have Live Scan equipment. Hours of operation and fees vary, so please contact the Live Scan site directly for information.

  2. For residents outside of California or CA residents who are are unable to access Live Scan, you may use the manual fingerprint (hard card) method.

    1. You will need to use FD-258 for fingerprinting. Please check the facility at which you will be fingerprinted to determine whether they will provide an FD-258 card or require you to bring your own.

    2. You may also obtain an FD-258 card at your local law enforcement agency, such as a police station or sheriff’s office. You may also request one from the Board by using our Fingerprint Request Form.

  3. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure and the state where you are currently employed. If these states do not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state’s BON and request verification be sent to the California BON.
  4. Submit transcripts.

    1. For graduating California students: California Board-approved nursing programs will submit your transcripts to the Board electronically upon completion of your program.

    2. For out of state nursing programs: If you attended a nursing program in another State, you may have your transcripts sent to our Board electronically from a certified third-party electronic transcripts vendor such as Parchment, National Student Clearinghouse, or directly from your school. Electronic transcripts must be sent to

    3. International nursing programs: If you attended a nursing program in another country, you must have your official transcripts sent to the Board by mail.

Temporary License

  1. If you wish to be issued a provisional license, please indicate this on your application. 
  2. Temporary permits are valid for 6 months.